Image Alt

Testimonials

Marilana Properties are proud to have received 58 out of 58 5 stars reviews

Testimonials w 3 sliders

Makaha Gem

My family just spent a week in this beautiful home enjoying a fabulous view and comfortable home. Our children and grandchildren helped us celebrate my husband and my 50th wedding anniversary. The house was well stocked with everything we needed for our family of 12. Mari was a dream to work with, always pleasant and helpful. She provided information for all our requests promptly and graciously. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. MAHALO MARI! ????�????�????�

Pat D.
Aug 19, 2019

65th Anniversary

Our family gathered together to celebrate my parent's 65th wedding anniversary and this Makaha home set a beautiful backdrop for their Vow Renewal Ceremony. The home held 13 adults and 3 children comfortably and provided all the amenities we needed. The top deck was the perfect spot to star gaze at night and the pool was constantly in use by all. The sunsets were beautiful and we watched them daily. Mari was very helpful in providing us with the information we needed and kept in touch during our stay to make sure that everything was going well. This was our second family trip to Oahu and we are so glad that we chose to stay in Makaha.

Bonnie C.
Aug 7, 2019

Beautiful views, quiet surroundings, lovely home!

Mari is super easy to work with and very accommodating. This is our second time going and second great experience!

Adriana R.
Jun 30, 2019

Great house and view

We had a great week staying here. The house was really clean and had a great view. The owner was very helpful and a pleasure to work with. The house is on the locals side of the island and not in an upscale tourist location. The kitchen upstairs was fully stocked but the one downstairs could use a few more utensils and supplies. All the beach equipment being available for us to use was a really nice bonus.

Deanna L.
May 10, 2019

A PRICELESS VIEW!

We had our family (10 total) stay there for vacation. We were so happy with the place and the pictures do not do justice on how great the view and location is. Some nights I had to close the window because you are so close to the ocean. We were planning to stay 7 nights and then move to Honolulu, but loved it so much there that we extended the 2 days and skipped Honolulu. Why go to Honolulu when you can pretty much grill your own meals and have the same view as Dukes? It was hard to leave. Also, Mari was very friendly and would always respond and answer calls if there were any concerns. We had a few requests during the trip and she was able to fulfill them right away. If you want a place to get 100% enjoyment of the island, I highly recommend this place.

Adam K.
Mar 21, 2019

Wonderful house and fantastic view

Thirteen of us gathered together in this great house to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. From 2 to 72, everyone enjoyed the amenities this house provided. We found most everything as advertised, and very clean. The waterfall in the pool was broken during our stay - but the pool was still enjoyed by all. The view from the lanai could not be beat and we enjoyed watching the sunsets. We were even able to see turtles and whales. There was lots of pool toys, beach toys, boogie boards and beach chairs for our use. One complaint we had is that the washer and dryer were on separate floors so a laundry basket would have been nice. Other than that everything we needed was provided.

Katie K.
Jan 16, 2019

Paradise Found

Stop looking and book with Mari ASAP! This property is Paradise. From the first conversation to the final tear filled goodbyes, Mari is first class. The staff, the home, the grounds, not enough can be said to describe how wonderful Mari and her team make you feel. 5 stars in not enough for this team and property. I would recommend Mari and her home to anyone. My family and I can't wait for a return visit. Thank you Mari!!

Chris K.
Jan 25, 2019

Stunning.

Relaxing. Ocean views, beachfront property. Home has everything to make your stay comfortable. Staff is very attentive and accommodating. Just a beautiful property.

Dave H.
Aug 17, 2018

A perfect dream vacation for our family of 10

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 50th with our two daughter’s families in paradise. Everything, including the sunsets, was just as it was shown in the listing. The house was perfect. The weather was great. And the beaches and snorkeling fantastic. Even had two rare seal sightings 10 ft from shore on Makaha beach. Honu swam right next to my daughters at Makaha beach, and we sighted them daily. We have some great memories and want to go back.

James C.
Jul 28, 2018

Great comfortable spacious place 🙂

Some friends and I decided to forgo the hotel scene this year and rented this vacation house on Oahu. It turned out to be a great idea. We had this huge clean house right on the beach, away from all the tourist nonsense in Waikiki. Yet could still be in Honolulu or North shore within an hour. We had two kitchens and a barbecue which enabled us to eat healthier, it was much less expensive as well. We had a fabulous golf course 5 minutes away that was super reasonable, with very few others on it and we had great beaches near us to surf or snorkel. We will definitely return someday and next time bring a few more friends, as it could accommodate more people quite easily. Oh, and the upper deck was a fabulous way to end each day star gazing. This is definitely the way to hang out in Oahu!

STEVEN E.
May 17, 2018

This was the vacation of a life time!

Our family of 11 included ages 10 to 68. The property provided everything we could need, plus lots of space to enjoy. We saw whales and turtles right from the Lanai every day. The pool was a huge hit. A pristine white sand beach was a few minutes walk. Best of all, we were away from all the noise and traffic. We highly recommend this to families who want an exceptional family experience. This would truly be the dream house liday for ant family. Thank you more than I can say!

Connie T.
Jan 22, 2018

Mahalo, Kathy

We had a glorious family vacation in this wonderful house! The Makana Beach house was immaculate, and Mari and her amazing team made sure that every detail was seen to and perfect. When we had a question, we got an immediate answer and when there were a very minor issue with the grill, Jenny was there immediately to help! Mari shared great local information well before our visit, so we could plan and be prepared for any attractions we wanted to see. The house also had several guide books, which we used daily! The views were unbelievable with the exciting Pacific front and center from the deck and lanai, , and the mountains from the other. We enjoyed the pool daily, and the swimming beach was a short walk or drive away. We would gladly return will recommend this fantastic home to friends and family. Thank you for making sure our first visit to Hawaii was so wonderful!!!

Kathy L.
Jun 12, 2017

A lovely place!

Our family of 11 - from baby to great grandmother spent 11 days enjoying this wonderful home. Each family had its own space, while enjoying the large living room, dining room and kitchen. Our daily activities included a walk to the nearby cove to see the turtles, and the family gathering on the rock wall above the beach to watch the sun go down. We spent many hours in the pool. The home is very elder friendly and very child safe. We appreciated the prompt responses from Mari and her staff. We enjoyed being away from the tourists and enjoyed the local community. It was a fun place to spend Christmas and New Year!

A guest from Gig Harbor, WA
Jan 22, 2017

Loved it!

14 friends and family gathered to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Plenty of room for everyone, never felt crowded and it was nice to have so many bathrooms. The views from the deck were fabulous. The pool and jet tub were enjoyed by many. We had 3 vans so we all just went wherever and when ever we wanted, but always gathered back at "our house" in the evenings to enjoy it all. The house was immaculate, Mari was a joy to work with.. We would come back anytime!

LeeAnn H.
Dec 28, 2016

Best beach house on the island

We just left this morning and are so sad. This was our best vacation ever and mostly due to this house. Best views, terrific layout and very quiet, except.for the sound of the ocean. We are already.planning a trip back.

Jeff S.
Jul 9, 2016

Lovely ocean front home perfect for family reunion!

This was a perfect location for our family reunion of 12. We took our two children and their families to Hawaii for a week and found Mari's home to be immaculate, spacious and beautiful. When we walked through the door we were blown away with the drop-dead gorgeous views. We made good use of the lovely pool, the multiple decks, the beach and pool equipment, the large kitchen, and the laundry facitilies. Mari and her daughter were wonderful to work with and take great pride in making your Hawaiian experience everything you want it to be. From our first contact with Mari to the return of our deposit, Mari was professional, friendly, and helpful. Mari went way above and beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend this property to my friends and would love to return someday.

Marvin N.
Aug 13, 2015

Immaculate home with great views!

This home is immaculately kept with great views of the ocean and sunsets from every room! Mari is a wonderful host, no detail is overlooked and this home is extremely clean and well appointed. We loved being away from the tourists and having the beach to ourselves. Everybody was so nice and we went to the Tamura market, LnL Hawaiian BBQ, Waianae boat harbor, Sacred Heart Catholic Church, West Oahu SUP and Makaha beach and were greeted with Aloha every place we went. We all felt so at home we started thinking we lived there and forgot we were visiting! I highly recommend this house for your next trip to Oahu!

Lisa W.
Sep 11, 2014

Family Vacation

There are no words to express or pictures to depict how wonderful this property is! From the first moment of working with Mari until our return home she could not have been a more generous and thoughtful person to deal with. The home is spectacular with gorgeous views, a cove with turtles and a private beach minutes away. On the days we went sightseeing, we could not wait to "get home" to relax to the calming sounds of the ocean, swim in the pool or sit in the crow's nest to watch shooting stars. This is the perfect getaway to balance tourist events with relaxation. When we return to the island of Oahu this would be the only place we want to stay!

LM
Jul 23, 2014

11 women from Louisiana

The trip to Oahu was a trip of a lifetime. Everything that was said and pictured about the house was better than it described. The house was wonderful, plenty of space for all of us to spread out. The scenery, from the house, the pool and Jacuzzi ,the local people and the owner, Mari were perfect. She was a great hostess, very hospitable and helpful with our plans. She even found us a driver when we did not want to drive. Thomas was marvelous. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Hawaii and this house and would definitely stay at this house again and would recommend it. We loved the K'olina area close by. Things to do and shopping and places to see, eat and drink. Thanks for Mari and her kindness ...

Carol W.
May 27, 2014

Great for large group

We had 11 people in our group and the house had more than enough room and comfort for all of us. It was very clean with modern, updated kithchens and appliances. Pool kept the grandchildren busy when we weren't out and about. Great porch overlooking ocean for watching surf, sunset and games/cards at night. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Charles B.
18, 2014

Doing It Hawaiian Style

We have a family vacation in Hawaii every year. From ages 2 to 68 we loved this property. The beautiful house, fantastic beaches, turtles, baby sharks, whales, sunshine all made this a memorable stay. But, I think the thing we appreciated most was the people. Mari, Phyllis and Tracy took such good care of us. The people in the neighborhood, at the store, in the restaurant were great and made us feel at home. Makaha may be out there a ways, but it was so worth it.

Jo
May 25, 2013

Family of 9

I would like to Thank each of you for making our stay so awesome. We were a family of 9 and had more then enough space at this home. We all enjoyed the whales each day, as well as the beautiful sunsets at night.The pool was perfect for all of us to enjoy. It was truly hard to leave the house as it had everything that you could ask for. We would most definitely go back again to this property. It was PERFECT!! Thanks so much for making our first trip to Hawaii so memorable.

Melanie
May 22, 2013

Family spring break vacation

Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh. We had an awesome vacation in an awesome home. Everything was perfect. From the moment we arrived, Terri, Ming and Mari made our welcome very hospitable. The home was everything they said it was. The views were to die for. And just being all together with the family was paradise. Would we return to this home? Absolutely!!! Will we return to Hawaii? Absolutely!!! We didn't want to leave. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

First timers
Apr 12, 2013

Oahu dream vacation.

I stayed at this property in Oahu from March 8 to 18th with 7 other adults. We had an amazing time and did not want to leave. Mari and Terry were both so helpful both before and during our stay. The house was very comfortable and large enough for the 8 of us with room to spare. We also loved the area the house was in, some days we had a hard time leaving. Whales were seen everyday and dolphins occasionally swam by. Also we saw turtles at Turtle cove every time we went there and it was just down the street. The house is in such a quiet area which we also enjoyed. You do need a car to get around as it is quite a drive to get to places like Pearl Harbour, the North Shore and Honolulu but the H1 highway will get you there. Go to the Maili Sunset Grill for seafood it was amazing and so fun! I would highly recommend this house to any big group and the pool is a huge bonus!

Dolphins1
Mar 23, 2013

My time in Heaven!

This was an amazing trip for my family and I. Traveling with a group of 10 is not easy by any stretch of the imagination and arriving at this home made it all worth it! We had more than enough space to spread out and enjoy the entire home. Every morning we all enjoyed the sunrise on the lanai and the sunset in the evening. We even enjoyed sleeping under the stars a few nights! We had a few mishaps but they were quickly taken care of. Mari was so gracious to provide us with a list of activities that we're available for the area. We were able to meet so many great neighbors and always had an amazing time at the turtle cove. While enjoying our breakfast on the lanai we saw dolphins and huge turtles. At the turtle cove on our last night we were amazed to see a huge sea lion (we were told it was good luck!). Overall we had an amazing time and would be glad to visit this home again!

Anonymous
Aug 8, 2012

HAWAII HOME WITH IT ALL

We truly enjoyed our stay at this home on the island. The home is immaculate. The sunsets were spectacular. Mari and Terry were very gracious hostesses, respecting our privacy and suppying great info about the property. Everything was perfect!! We hope to return soon! Well, actually I did not want to leave. I will have no problem recommending this home to our friends and family.

Melabrow
May 13, 2012

Fantastic family vacation

The vacation property was perfect for our family of seven. Everyone had plenty of space and all of the bedrooms were very comfortable. The views from both the ocean and the mountains were wonderful. We spent a lot of time in the pool and hot tub. Everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had nice appliances and was close to a spacious dining room. We saw whales almost every day. We also enjoyed the crow’s-nest for star gazing. Terry was very helpful in welcoming us and explaining the features of the house. We walked a short distance to see the turtles come on shore for a rest. We appreciated the more peaceful Makaha side of Oahu. We would definitely recommend the house for a group vacation.

Anonymous
Apr 12, 2012

Serenity Realized

A spectacular 'experience'! A destination in an of itself. Once I was there I really didn't feel, or want, to go anywhere else. The view of the ocean just steps away can't be described. Watching the swells come in mesmerizes you, and there are whales that swim just off shore! Turtles pop up throughout the day. What a joy. The front of the house has amazing views of a sweeping valley and majestic mountains. Every turn gives you something beautiful to 'drink' in. The house is light and airy, feels like a spa. So comfortable, and a great place to have a gathering, or use it as a retreat and just relax. The house has that kind of energy. The crows nest is my favorite at sunset, and believe me, the sun sets are dazzling! I love this house, and it's obvious the owner does as well. Simply put, "it doesn't get any better then this".

James
Nov 9, 2011

Hawaii Five O

This was my first home rental in Hawaii. Have been there a number of times, but this experiance was the best. We had 13 people in out party and we were there for 8 days and there was still plenty of room. If you want the real Hawaiian experiance without all the tourist trap hassel attached, this is the place. Before arriving Mari ensures all details are taken care of. She not only sent an activities sheet before we arrived including what to do, where to go, where to shop, etc..., but she folllowed up with a phone call after we arrived to ensure we were taken care of and were having a great experiance. The view of the ocean from the house exceeds the pictures. The local beach down the road (Turtle Cove) lived up to it's name with turtles sunning themselves on the beach. The locals were very friendly. I could not have picked a better location to celebrate my 50th birthday. Mahalo Mari.

Anonymous
Aug 3, 2012

Stayed with us?
Leave a review!